February 2020 saw the inaugural London Catastrophe Modelling Awards: an informal, free-to-attend, not-for-profit event, organised by volunteers.


And we're back again for 2022!

The key aim is to continue highlighting and celebrating the work done by the large catastrophe modelling community that is approaching 30 years old in London and central to most re/insurance companies in the London Market - and yet rarely sees its employees recognised.

Given the success of the evening, with nearly 200 attendees, we hope that this will now be a yearly event. Keep your eyes peeled for a date, likely in October.


2020 Venue and Timings


The awards took place on Thursday 13th February 2020 at the Balls Brothers in Adams Court in the City of London.

We were delighted that Dominic Christian, Global Chairman, Reinsurance Solutions at Aon was able to be the Master of Ceremonies for the evening, with the awards presented by the sponsors.


2020 Sponsorship

We were very grateful to Lloyd's of London for being the main sponsor of the event and Kirsten Mitchell-Wallace and Emma Watkins from Lloyd's provided an introduction to the evening.


We thank our other sponsors here for kindly sponsoring an award on the evening as well as the food and drinks.

The ISCM, whilst not sponsoring an award, generously donated money towards the evening and Mark Christensen of Chubb provided some details of the ISCM activities in London for 2020

Emerald Group.jpg

2020 Award Categories and Winners

A panel of independent representatives from across catastrophe modelling with a representative from each sponsor voted for the award categories.

The award categories and winners were:

  • Best newcomer (2-3 years into career): Georgie Tuffin (Aon) - Sponsored by Emerald Group

  • Lifetime achievement / important contribution award: Paul Nunn (SCOR) - Sponsored by Artemis

  • Best piece of research / evaluation / validation in the last year; Andrew Smith, Oliver Wing, Chris Sampson (Fathom)  - Sponsored by Oasis

  • Best vendor client rep: Katharine Stevens (AIR Worldwide) - Sponsored by Eames Consulting Group

  • Best use of risk analytics to promote resilience: Sarah Jones (JBA Risk) - Sponsored by Risk Management Solutions

  • Best underwriting analyst:  Ryan Dowie (Trans Re) - Sponsored by F Squared

  • Industry collaboration champion: Dickie Whitaker (OASIS) - Sponsored by AIR Worldwide

  • Best broking analyst: Mark Lynch (Aon) - Sponsored by Arthur Financial

  • Leadership award: Emma Washington (Hiscox Re) - Sponsored by CoreLogic

  • Diversity & inclusion award: Lauren O'Rourke (Liberty Specialty Markets) - Sponsored by Aon